DIY 4

For Christmas, I decided to get creative and make some of the gifts I was giving (yes, Pinterest was the inspiration). I decided to make some of the lovely ladies in my life some bath salts. I found this super easy ‘recipe’ from Intimate Weddings. They used the bath salts as wedding shower favors but they worked just as well for Christmas.

IMG_1668

You’ll need:

Cute jars or containers
3/4 cup Epsom salts
1/2 cup coarse sea salt
1/4 cup baking soda
8 drops essential oil
food coloring

IMG_1669

I used jars I purchased from Ikea
Clove and Cinnamon essential oils from my local Co-Op to ensure the salts smelled Christmasy
I also used ‘Relax and Relief’ Epsom salts to provide a clearing minty aspect but I would advise using plain Epsom salts (later found in the Pharmacy section at Wal-Mart) because the mint overpowered the clove/cinnamon a bit.
I added enough drops of red food coloring to give it a pink/red tint but not enough to risk dissolving the salts.

IMG_1670

To add another element to the gift, I wrapped each Bath Salts Jar in a dish towel I purchased at Ikea for $0.79!

Enjoy,
♥ B

Please Leave a Reply!

